HomeAbout Billiards DigestContact UsArchiveAll About PoolEquipmentOur AdvertisersLinks
Headstring News
Nations Set for World Cup of Pool
Jun 17, 2010, 7:19 AM

Reyes (left) and Bustamante won the World Cup for a second time in 2009. (Photo by Matchroom Sport)
When Francisco Bustamante and Efren Reyes begin their bid to repeat as World Cup of Pool champions, they will probably have more than a little crowd support. For the second year, the two-player team event will once again take place in Manila, following last year’s first go-around in the Philippines.

Set for September 7-12, the event will feature 32 teams shooting for a $250,000 prize fund. Leading the way will be defending champions Reyes and Bustamante, whose heroics last year lifted the nation as they beat Germany, 11-9, in a riveting final featuring two of the top nations in pool.

That was the second time in the tournament’s four-year run that the Filipino veterans have lifted the coveted trophy. Plus, with the host nation having the honor of fielding two teams in the event, they will be joined by recent World Pool Masters Champion Dennis Orcollo and Roberto Gomez (aka Superman) as a rather imposing Philippines B Team.

Other stars of the pool world scheduled to take part include world champions Ralf Souquet and Oliver Ortmann of Germany, Daryl Peach and Karl Boyes of England, American Johnny Archer and Finland’s Mika Immonen.

Other top draws appearing in Manila are Sweden's Marcus Chamat, Niels Feijen of Holland, Malta’s Tony Drago and a host of big names that will be announced in the coming weeks.

The entire event will be broadcast by Solar Sports live across the Philippines with the live feed of the tournament available internationally. In addition Matchroom Sport will be producing 31 one-hour highlight package of the event.

“We are delighted to be returning to the Philippines after having enjoyed last year one of the greatest pool tournaments we have ever promoted," said Barry Hearn, chairman of Matchroom Sport.

“The World Cup of Pool is fast becoming the biggest pool tournament in the world and we are delighted to see its continued growth in Asia and around the world.”

The list of nation, divided by continent, is:

Europe (15): Austria, Croatia, England, Finland, France, Germany, Holland, Italy, Malta, Poland, Russia, Spain, Sweden and two qualifiers;

Asia (14): China, Hong Kong, India, Indonesia, Japan, Korea, Malaysia, Philippines 1, Philippines 2, Qatar, Singapore, Taiwan, Thailand and Vietnam;

North America (2): U.S. and Canada

Australia (1)